You Collect What? Part 2

I fell in love with bears…Boyd’s Bears to be exact. I examined each one, admiring the detail, so thrilled! Have you seen these bears? Each tiny line giving me so much delight. And, the added hunt for the paw print hidden on each one! So much fun!! I’d run to the store in anticipation of new releases.

My collection contained many 1st additions! AND, I was a FOB (Friend of Boyd’s)! My membership gave me special releases – not found in stores.

I knew where each was in my house and their names. I could shop without fear of duplication because I knew them so well.

These figurines were treasures to me. The value I put upon them immense.

One day I yelled at my boys because they broke one. One day I looked at them and saw dollar signs and souls that didn’t know their Lord. Tears fell as I fell out of love. My prized collection became things. Things? Wasn’t that what they were to begin with?

I’m not saying collecting is bad. I am saying to my extent was. But, there’s something more….

If I with evil all around me, I with a wicked heart, could take such pleasure in my collection….oh, what joy God takes in us, in you, in me!!! As I was reminiscing about the collection I no longer have, it was this whispering in my heart – ‘I love you little one! I trace every line with my finger, I count the hairs on your head, I know your name and exactly where you are, you are my masterpiece, I delight in you!’

Wow, I like it on the other side of collecting……

“The Lord your God in your midst, The Mighty One, will save; He will rejoice over you with gladness, He will quiet you with His love, He will rejoice over you with singing.” Zephaniah 3:17

2 thoughts on “You Collect What? Part 2

Leave a Reply

