Oww, Now…

…my head hurts!!

I like to read devotionals. I find them uplifting and often so relatable. Relatable can come with zings – like conviction. Another sorta related zing is condemnation. Conviction is profitable for growth & brings maturity if embraced. Condemnation, on the other hand, is a tool to get one to become preoccupied with one’s self – amply used by Satan to render useless an otherwise happy child of God. One can mean a victory and the other a defeat; while using the same material.

I read this quote by Larry Crabb this morning: “Feeling better has become more important to us than finding God.”

Yup, that’s what did it; what made my head hurt trying to get my mind around it. Just before that I was focused on the chronic pain I live with. Do you see what zinged me? I am so saturated with the desire to feel better I’m not looking for God in my situation.

Is this the first time I realized this with this situation? Noooo, but I forgot already. Wouldn’t you think I’d remember? That’s what I thought about the Israelites running around in the desert.  ‘Didn’t God just part the Red Sea for you guys?? Why are you doubting Him now? You’d rather be back in Egypt?? What about food falling from the sky?’  Had thoughts of your own like that? I’d say our perception of ‘feeling better’ being more important than finding God has been around for a long time.

He is El Shaddai – Sufficient for all my needs; Jehovah Shalom – God of Peace; Adonai – Master of everything; Jehovah Rapha – the God Who Heals, El Roi – the God Who Sees, Jehovah Rohi – Shepherd God, and the list goes on and on. You have a need? He whispers ‘Come closer and know Me!’ 

You will seek me and find me when you search for me with all your heart. Jeremiah 29:13

2 thoughts on “Oww, Now…

  1. He is so patient to teach us the same lesson again and again! He is so consistent, His love never changes! Thanks for the encouragement. Love you!

Leave a Reply

